The Eligibility Process

If you are interested in receiving services from Meigs County Board of DD for yourself or your child, you will first need to complete the eligibility process. Eligibility requirements differ depending on the age of the individual applying.  

  • For children ages 3-5, there must be at least two areas of developmental delay documented by a qualified professional.
  • For children and adults ages 6+, there must be a diagnosed disability from a medical doctor or licensed psychologist.
  • Individuals 6 and older must also have at least 3 Substantial Functional Limitations according to the C/OEDI assessment) Children’s/ Ohio Eligibility Determination Instrument).
  • For those already receiving services, eligibility is re-determined at ages 3, 6, and 16.

For additional information on eligibility requirements or to get the process started, please contact the SSA department at 740.992.6681 or complete the referral form by clicking on the button.

A Service and Support Administrator (SSA) can work with an individual and family to identify any immediate needs that a person has and to make plans to address these needs. We follow the “hierarchy of services” to meet needs through service and planning and funding:

  1. Natural (family/friends) support
  2. Community resources
  3. Commercial or private insurance
  4. Medicare
  5. Medicaid state plan or “basic” services
  6. Medicaid HCBS waiver services including those administered by Ohio Department of Aging, by Ohio Department of Developmental Disabilities (DODD), and by Ohio Department of Job and Family Services
  7. Local Tax Levy Dollars

Waivers can be one way to pay for services that help people with developmental disabilities live their lives. DODD administers three different types of waivers:

  • Individual Options
  • Level One
  • Self-Empowered Life Funding waivers

Each waiver has different spending limits and offers some different services.  By blending together multiple funding sources, such as local county board of developmental disability levy funds and Ohio Medicaid benefits, a person with developmental disabilities may be able to have their service needs met without a waiver.

In order for an individual to receive a waiver, he/she must have an identified need and request to be placed on the waiting list.  The waiting list rule OAC 5123:2-1-08 dictates enrollment based on priority categories.  The Ohio Department of Developmental Disabilities is your best resource for information on waiver funding and the different types of waivers.


In addition, services may also be available in an Intermediate Care Facility (ICF). More information can be found at the following links:  

Please contact a Service and Support Administrator if you have questions about funding options, hierarchy of services, and the waiver waiting list.